Who we are

Position Name Email Work Address Telephone Number

Leadership

HPRU Director

Sarah O’Brien

sjobrien@liverpool.ac.uk The Farr Institute@HeRC
University of Liverpool
2nd Floor, Block F
Waterhouse Buildings
1-5 Brownlow Street
Liverpool
L69 3GL
0151 795 8301
HPRU PHE Lead & The microbiome: the role of microbial communities in gastrointestinal infections - Theme Leader Jim McLauchlin jim.mclauchlin@phe.gov.uk Food Water and Environmental Microbiology Services,
Public Health England,
61 Colindale Ave,
London,
NW9  5EQ.
0208 327 6530

Project Management/Administration Team

Senior Manager  Stevo Williams srw@liverpool.ac.uk The Farr Institute@HeRC
University of Liverpool
2nd Floor, Block F
Waterhouse Buildings
1-5 Brownlow Street
Liverpool
L69 3GL
0151 795 8311
Project Officer Vikki Grimbly grimblyv@liverpool.ac.uk 0151 795 8317
Research Administrator Maxine Martin mmm@liverpool.ac.uk 0151 795 8333

Theme: Pathogens: exploiting recent advances in genomics

Theme Leader Kathie Grant kathie.grant@phe.gov.uk Public Health England, 61 Colindale Ave,
London,
NW9  5EQ.
0208 327 7117
Theme Leader Martin Maiden martin.maiden@zoo.ox.ac.uk Department of Zoology, University of Oxford,
South Parks Road,
Oxford
OX1 3PS
01865 271284
PDRA Melissa Jansen van Rensburg melissa.jansenvanrensburg@merton.ox.ac.uk    
PDRA Anaïs Painset anais.painset@phe.gov.uk    
DPhil Clare Barker clare.barker@zoo.ox.ac.uk    
DPhil Madison Pearce madison.pearce@hertford.ox.ac.uk    

Theme: Pathways: understanding transmission of gastrointestinal infection to and between people

Theme Leader Paul Hunter paul.hunter@uea.ac.uk The Norwich School of Medicine, University of East Anglia, Norwich, NR4 7TJ 01603 591004
Theme Leader Roberto Vivancos roberto.vivancos@phe.gov.uk Public Health England, 5th Floor, Rail House,
Lord Nelson Street,
Liverpool
L1 1JF
0844 225 1295
Honorary Research Associate Anna Donaldson annadonaldson@nhs.net The Farr Institute@HeRC
University of Liverpool
2nd Floor, Block F
Waterhouse Buildings
1-5 Brownlow Street
Liverpool
L69 3GL
 
PDRA Erica Kintz e.kintz@uea.ac.uk The Norwich School of Medicine, University of East Anglia, Norwich, NR4 7TJ  
PhD Rebecca Inman r.inman@uea.ac.uk  
PhD Jennifer Mattock
J.Mattock@uea.ac.uk
PhD Richard Elson richard.elson@phe.gov.uk    
PhD Tom Inns thomas.inns@phe.gov.uk The Farr Institute@HeRC
University of Liverpool
2nd Floor, Block F
Waterhouse Buildings
1-5 Brownlow Street
Liverpool
L69 3GL
 
PhD Caoimhe McKerr tidsy78@liverpool.ac.uk  

Theme: People: exploring socio-economic and behavioural factors in gastrointestinal infections

Theme Leader Jeremy Hawker jeremy.hawker@phe.gov.uk Field Epidemiology Service, Public Health England West Midlands, 6th Floor, 
5 St Philips Place,
Birmingham, 
B3 2PW
0844 225 3560
Theme Leader Margaret Whitehead mmw@liverpool.ac.uk University of Liverpool, Whelan Building,
Brownlow Hill,
Liverpool,
L69 3GB
0151 794 5280
Lecturer John Harris jpaulh30@liv.ac.uk The Farr Institute@HeRC
University of Liverpool
2nd Floor, Block F
Waterhouse Buildings
1-5 Brownlow Street
Liverpool
L69 3GL 
PDRA Rachael Eastham r.eastham1@lancaster.ac.uk  
PDRA Alexander Kaley a.kaley@lancaster.ac.uk  
PDRA Sarah McGarrol

sarah.mcgarrol@liverpool.ac.uk The Farr Institute@HeRC
University of Liverpool
2nd Floor, Block F
Waterhouse Buildings
1-5 Brownlow Street
Liverpool
L69 3GL  
 
PhD Tanith Rose tanith@liverpool.ac.uk  
PhD Suzie Rotheram hlsrothe@liverpool.ac.uk  
PhD Natalie Adams natalie.adams@phe.gov.uk    
PhD Helen Hughes helen.hughes@phe.gov.uk     

Theme: Places: elucidating the role of environment in gastrointestinal disease outbreaks

Theme Leader David James Allen david.jamesallen@phe.gov.uk

Enteric Virus Unit, Virus Reference Department, Microbiology Services Colindale, Public Health England, 61 Colindale Avenue, London, NW9 5EQ

0208 327 6225
Theme Leader Miren Iturriza-Gomara miren@liverpool.ac.uk Institute of Infection & Global Health, The University of Liverpool,
Ronald Ross Building, 8 West Derby Street,
Liverpool,
L69 7BE  
0151 795 9629
PhD Anna Puławska-Czub

annmaria@liverpool.ac.uk

 
Technician  Jenna Dawson    

Theme: The microbiome: the role of microbial communities in gastrointestinal infections

Theme Leader Arjan Narbad arjan.narbad@quadram.ac.uk Translational Microbiome Group, Quadram Institute Bioscience,
Norwich Research Park,
Colney,
NR4 7UA   
01603 255131
Researcher Lee Kellingray lee.kellingray@quadram.ac.uk  
Research Technician Henry Whiley henry.whiley@quadram.ac.uk  
PhD Saskia Neuert saskia.neuert@quadram.ac.uk  

Theme: Tracking disease in the population: developing novel methods for disease surveillance and outbreak investigation

Theme Leader Bob Adak bob.adak@phe.gov.uk PHE Colindale, 
61 Colindale Avenue,
London,
NW9 5HT
0208 200 4400
Theme Leader Noel McCarthy noel.mccarthy@zoo.ox.ac.uk Department of Zoology, University of Oxford,
South Parks Road,
Oxford
OX1 3PS
01865 281535
Research Fellow Mara Violato

mara.violato@dph.ox.ac.uk

   
DPhil Adedoyin Awofisayo-Okuyelu

adedoyin.awofisayo-okuyelu@linacre.ox.ac.uk

   
DPhil Seun Esan

oluwaseun.esan@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford,
New Radcliffe House, Radcliffe Observatory Quarter, Woodstock Road, Oxford, OX2 6GG

01865 289283
PhD Obaghe Edeghere

Obaghe.Edeghere@phe.gov.uk